4th Annual Harry Hawkins Award Presentation Happening Dec. 1st

Posted In: Sports, Local Sports,   By: Robert E Martin

17th November, 2022     0

The fourth annual Harry Hawkins Award presentation will be held Thursday, December 1, 2022, at the Saginaw Club.

The Heisman Trophy-like award, which debuted in 2019, recognizes the top senior football player in Saginaw County. The Saginaw Club is the presenting sponsor of the award in conjunction with the Saginaw County Sports Hall of Fame, and the MLive Media Group.

Finalists include Gabe Blanchard of Freeland High School, Kahleel Brown of Birch Run High School, and Evan Wakefield of Michigan Lutheran Seminary High School.

The Hawkins award is named in honor of former Arthur Hill High School and University of Michigan gridiron standout Harry Hawkins, the first All-America football player from Saginaw County. Hawkins, also a track standout at Michigan, where he captured both the Big Ten and National Championships in the hammer throw, was an engineer and executive in the automotive industry.

Previous Hawkins award winners include Brady Devereaux of Hemlock High School (2019), Christopher Parker of Heritage High School (2020) and Cole Lindow of Frankenmuth High School (2021).

The ceremony will be held at the Saginaw Club’s newly-refurbished third-floor ballroom. A social hour begins at 6 p.m. and the award presentation starts promptly at 7 p.m. The cost to attend is $20. To RSVP, please call the Saginaw Club at (989) 754-8404.

The historic Saginaw Club is located at 219 N. Washington Ave. in downtown Saginaw.

For more information, please contact Jack Tany at (989) 737-4725.








Please login to comment



Current Issue


Don't have an account?