66th Annual Saginaw District Golf Tournament Set to Tee Off

General Registration will go from June 1 - June 14th

    icon May 15, 2020
    icon 0 Comments

The Saginaw District Golf Association is thrilled to announce that the 2020 Saginaw District Golf Tournament will take place as scheduled on June 26, 27, and 28 at The Fortress in Frankenmuth.   This is the first time the event has been played at The Fortress since 1998. 

“With all of the events that have been canceled or postponed due to COVID-19 we are very excited that the premiere golf event in Saginaw County will still go on,” said Trace Hendrick, SDGA Chairman. “The safety of our participants and volunteers is always our number one priority so we have put in place numerous protocols that will limit gatherings and encourage social distancing.” 

According to Hendrick, with a minimum number of entries and sponsors secured they will be able to host the tournament.  “We will begin Exempt Registration and will make a final decision on cancellation no later than June 15th.  If for some reason the tournament is cancelled, everyone will receive a full refund.”

“There are a number of COVID-19 Protocols that MUST be followed for the safety of our players and volunteers.  Please review those prior to registration.  Due to current social distancing requirements, we are not allowing spectators. Caddies are only allowed if they are in your same household, scoreboards will be removed, and there will be no formal award ceremony.   Again, if you decide to participate this year, you MUST be willing to participate under those safety protocols.”  A full list of safety protocols can be found on the Saginaw District website at  www.saginawdistrictgolf.com.

2020 Registration Dates are as follows: 

Exempt Registration will go from May 18th through May 31st (4:00 PM).

General Registration will go from June 1st (8:00 AM) until June 14th (4:00 PM).   

Players must register electronically at www.saginawdistrictgolf.com.

Thus far Registered Participants in the Open Division include Brandon Schneider, Matt Pumford, Adam Jacobs, and Michael Leach. Registered Participants in the Legends Division include John Kowalweski and Steve Yockey. 

The Saginaw District Golf Associationwas established in 1955 to determine the best golfers in Saginaw County and to grow the game of golf. Thanks in large part to the vision of former Saginaw News Sports Editor Joe Hart, and the tireless effort and commitment of long-time SDGA Board of Directors Chairman, Fred Martin Jr., the Tournament became the premier amateur golf event in Saginaw County. 

It is intended to identify annually the best amateur golfer in the county.

Since the initial tournament, thirty-three (34) different players have earned the distinction of District Champion. The District Championship is awarded to the winner of the Open Division, and receives the Joe Hart trophy.  Bill Strong Sr. was the first in a long line of talented players to be crowned District Champion.

Ron Stelter is the dean of participants, having played in every District Tournament from its inception in 1955 through 2012. In the years from 1956 to 1979, Ron Stelter and Stan Murphy owned the District, accounting for wins in 15 of the 24 Tournaments. Ron's 10 victories likely will stand as a record for many years to come. Stan Murphy and Matt Pumford both have 5 Hart Trophies - tied for second on the list of multiple champions. Danny Hughes is third all-time with 4 victories.  Craig Barber has 3 followed by Mike Anderson, Tom Doozan, Terry Franz, Mike HumphreyNick Pumford and Walt Van Sickle as two time winners.

Played from 1994 through 2013, the Senior Division has seen 10 different champions. The Senior Championship trophy honors founding District chairman Fred Martin, Jr.  Dave Bewley, Mike Humphrey and Alan Pumford have each won three Senior titles.  Danny Hughes, Mike Skrocki and Mike Stelter have each won twice.

Changes came again in 2014.  The Legends Division was introduced as a separate division for players 50 years of age and older.  The Legends Champion trophy fittingly honors district legend Ron Stelter. The first Legends Division champion was Roger Alverson.

As the Legends Division was introduced, the Senior Division was eliminated, but not the Senior Champion.  The Senior Champion is now awarded to the low scoring player 50 years of age or older who plays in the Open Division.  Last year’s winners included Mark Sikorksk iin the Legends Division; Adam Jacobs in the Open Division; and Dan Hughes in the Senior Championship.

In 2020 the SDGA became a 501(c)(3) organization and began some new initiatives to grow the game of golf.  

New this year is a partnership with The First Tee of Eastern Michigan,  who will receive a portion of the proceeds from the Saginaw District Golf Tournament; and a new “Future Stars” sponsorship to offer discounted entry fees for High School players. Beginning in 2020 sponsor and tournament proceeds will allow the SDGA to donate  to these entities  to help introduce youth to the game of golf and its inherent values.  



Share on:

Comments (0)

icon Login to comment