26th Annual Review Music Awards Winners

A Breakdown on the Top Honors

    icon May 17, 2012
    icon 0 Comments

Here's a breakdown on the top honors handed out Sunday, April 29th at The Review's 26th Annual Music Awards Ceremony & Celebration. Nominees are selected from musicians living, recording, or performing regularly in the Great Lakes Bay Area and is the oldest statewide ceremony of its kind, pre-dating even the Detroit Music Awards.  When the Ceremony started back in 1987 only 500 votes were cast for all categories and this year we had over 7200 registered votes cast. The top five nominees in each division are selected from a field established by the public at large and the top selection is determined during a second round of voting by the general public. 

I would like to thank all the nominees, fans, illustrious guest presenters, and supporters of the musical arts in the Great Lakes Bay that turned out for this incredible evening of celebration and showcase performances by top musical artists in our area.  Please check out our 26th Annual Music Awards Special Edition of Review Magazine, on newstands and online May 17th, which will contain interviews and profiles on some of the top honorees along with expansive photo spreads of the evening's festivities. 

26th Annual Review Music Awards • Top Honors
Best Funk Band
Best Blues Band
Female Blues Vocalist
Mary Oke (MaryJane) - tie
Levi Rose - tie
Male Blues Vocalist
Dave Kellan
Blues Songwriter
Dave Kellan
Blues Instrumentalist
Duane Miller
Favorite Blues Club
Bemo's Bar
Best Country Band
Steve Armstrong and The 25 Cent Beer Band
Country Songwriter
Steve Armstrong
Country Female Vocalist
Mandi Lane
Country Male Vocalist
Steve Armstrong
Best Country Musician (Keyboards, Bass, Percussion, Horns, Guitarist)
Levi Goodwin
Favorite Country Club
The Stables


Best Rock Band
Best Rock Songwriter
Andy Reed
Rock Guitarist
Steve Axestorm - Burnaround
Rock Keyboardist
Noel Howland - Jedi Mind Trip
Rock Bassist
Sean Drysdale - The Banana Convention
Rock Drummer
Matt Johnston - Burnaround
Male Vocalist
Anthony Furlo - Burnaround
Female Vocalist
Shar Molina - The Banana Convention
Favorite Rock Club
Rap/Hip Hop Artist of the Year
Best Music Video
The Banana Convention - Jessica Fletcher
Best Music Festival
FreeMusic Fest
Best Live Event of the Year
Parkapalooza Sanford Lake

Share on:

Comments (0)

icon Login to comment